Skip to content

Does bankruptcy show on credit report?

Does bankruptcy show on credit report? After you have filed for bankruptcy, you may wonder where and how your bankruptcy will show up on your credit report. There are several consumer credit reporting agencies, one of which is the multinational company called “Experian.” Their headquarters is located in Dublin, Ireland and they provided the following information in answer to this very question:

Bankruptcy is reported in the public records section of your credit report. Both the bankruptcy and the accounts included in the bankruptcy should indicate they are discharged once the bankruptcy has been completed. To verify this, the first step is to get a copy of your personal credit report. You can get a free copy once every 12 months at https://www.annualcreditreport.com/index.action

Once you obtained a recent copy of your credit report and verified that the bankruptcy discharge information is not yet appearing, you can request that the information be updated.

When you file bankruptcy there is a document, called a “schedule,” that lists all of the debts included in the bankruptcy filing. You can send to the credit agency at address on your report a copy of the bankruptcy Schedule A, Schedule D or Schedule F that includes a list of debts included in the bankruptcy, and a copy of documentation that the bankruptcy has been discharged. You will also want to send along a statement explaining that the bankruptcy information should be updated. You can now even upload the documentation online. If necessary, the court also will be contacted and asked to verify that the bankruptcy has been discharged. You should be aware that the discharge date has no influence on when bankruptcy information is deleted from your credit report.

You may also wonder how long your bankruptcy will remain on your credit report. Experian also addressed that concern:

Does bankruptcy show on credit report? The bankruptcy public record will remain in your credit report for up to 10 years from the filing date. A Utah Chapter 13 bankruptcy remains for seven years and a Utah Chapter 7 remains 10 years. Accounts included in the bankruptcy will have their status updated to show that they are included in the bankruptcy. They will be deleted seven years from the original delinquency date of the account. The accounts usually are deleted before the bankruptcy public record because in most cases they are delinquent prior to bankruptcy being filed.

Looking to rebuild after you file bankruptcy? Check out my new book – The Utah book that helps you rebuild your life. LIFE AFTER BANKRUPTCY click link to order your copy today or spot in our office to purchase your copy today.

Leave a Comment